Last updated: May 16. 2014 1:54PM - 864 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Elizabethtown Community and Technical College Honors Reception to recognize outstanding academic achievement was held on Friday, April 25 at the State Theater in Elizabethtown. Several categories of achievement were honored, including Honors Students, Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, Program Awards, and Scholarships.

Honors Students

Each year at the College recognizes exceptional students who have achieved academic honors and scholastic distinction by attaining and maintaining high accumulative grade point averages. Students must maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or above on a full year’s worth of coursework at ECTC to be eligible.

These are the specific criteria used for determining Honors Students:

1.Have completed 30 or more credit hours at ECTC.

2.Have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above.


3.Enrolled as a full-time student during both Fall and Spring semesters of the current academic year.


4.A part-time student who has completed at least 60 hours of coursework at ECTC, who intends to graduate this year.

In addition to meeting the criteria above, the 4.0 Medallion is for graduating students. Graduating students who have maintained a GPA of 4.0 will receive a medallion for this achievement. These students are recognized as both medallion recipients as well as honor students.


Leitchfield- Amber Elizabeth Smith


Big Clifty - Yvette A. Tilford

Clarkson- Braden William Clemons, Jessica Lane Clemons, and Marcia Denise Smith

Leitchfield - Matthew Ryan Aronhalt, Katelyn Danielle Dallas, Anna Mae Decker, Emily Dotson, Nathaniel Hardin, Brittany Nicole McCloud, Annette Elizabeth Neumann, Courtney Brooke Penner, Amber Elizabeth Smith, Joanna Voyles, and Dillian Lee Willis

Millwood - Rachel Beth Payton


Leitchfield - Amber Elizabeth Smith - Biology


Leitchfield - Amber Elizabeth Smith

Scholarship Winners

Makayla Ballman, Mark Evan Beeler Memorial Journalism

Christopher Begley, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship; Alma Crowder Cooper Memorial

Bridgitte Bell, KCTCS John T. Smith Scholarship

Michelle Brown, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Andrew Buckles, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Avery Buckles, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Adrianne Buckles, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship; Edith Dupin Community Leader

Lori Denny, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

William Fain, Martha Ailene Knudson Memorial Endowed Nursing Scholarship; KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Kyle Franz, Walker C. Cunningham Award

Melissa French, Kentucky Retired Teachers Association/N.O. Kimbler Memorial Scholarship

Kristina Gaede, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Brittany Givan, Walker C. Cunningham Award; Charles and Zelma Conner Inge Scholarship

Michael Guerrieri, Automotive/Diesel Excellence in Education

Erika Henderson, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Sarah Hudson-Williamson, Kelley O’Rourke Abell Nursing Scholarship

Chandice Lewis, Elizabethtown Tourism & Convention Bureau/Martha “Sue” Preston Hospitality

Spencer Maupin, L.F. & Ruth Brewer Memorial-Trust

Jill Miles, Hardin LaRue Medical Society Endowed Nursing

Valerie Mitchell, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Ashley Morehead, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Steven Murphy, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Fuquan Peterson, KCTCS John T. Smith Scholarship

Phillip Pinson, Jr., Elizabethtown Tourism & Convention Bureau/Martha “Sue” Preston Hospitality

Nicholas Rainer, Charles and Zelma Conner Inge Scholarship

Robert Cole Richardson, Ordie Irwin Memorial

Kenneth Rush, Jr., KCTCS John T. Smith Scholarship

Dillon Simpson, KCTCS Presidents Scholarship

Forest Timberlake, L.F. & Ruth Brewer Memorial – Trust

Amanda Wachowski, KCTCS Presidents and Vinson and Mary M. Thomas Memorial Scholarships

Rachel Witten, L.F. & Ruth Brewer Memorial Scholarship

Susan Yopp, Jennifer Anne Molgaard Scholarship

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Leitchfield Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com