Last updated: January 06. 2014 11:39AM - 564 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Grayson County Middle School Kentucky Youth Assembly (KYA) delegation had a very successful legislative session, coming home with the conference Statesmanship Award. This is one of three overall delegation awards given each year, and Grayson County has come away with one of them for the past nine years. The other major awards are Best Bill Packet and Best Delegation.

KYA is a model government conference where hundreds of Kentucky’s brightest teens take over the Capitol Building to debate the important legislative issues of the Commonwealth. While there, students present bills they have written beforehand, and attempt to make them legislation just as their own Representatives and Senators do from the same seats. 

The Statesmanship Award recognizes a delegation with the most and the best speakers at KYA. Three students, Payton Abney, Wesley Saltsman, and Karson Clemons were honored with individual Outstanding Speaker Awards. Grace Gorby received the highly competitive Media Award, which is presented to only one student from all 35 schools represented.

Chloe Thornberry was elected to Leadership Team, as one of only two delegates overall selected to run a room at the conference in Frankfort.   

Alexis Coon and Jackson Parker were selected to serve as Parliamentarians at the Capitol, assisting with the smooth running of chambers, maintaining dockets, controlling debates, and working closely with the leadership team.   

For the first time ever, Grayson County had a finalist for the Governor’s race in Jack Davis. Due to his impressive campaign, he will return with next year’s delegation to assist the KYA Governor and run the Senate room at the Capitol. 

Three of the delegation’s four bills were presented and passed at the Capitol, where only those considered the best are deliberated. Bill authors included Melanie Horn, Baleigh Murrain, Brandi Minton, Karson Clemons, Shanna McClung, Katie Poindexter, Maggie Clark, Shelby Pierce, Brooklyn Glasscock, Payton Abney, Olivia Lucas, Wesley Saltsman, Chloe Paddack, Rhiannon Wilson, and Hailey Nix.


All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Leitchfield Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com