Last updated: September 17. 2013 12:36PM - 851 Views
By - bwise@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Grayson County Chamber of Commerce recognized several community members for their unmatched service and commitment at the annual awards banquet on Thursday, September 12.

Chamber President Wes Basham spoke to a packed house at the Center on Main to kick off the ceremony, announcing that these award recipients have made our community “stronger, bolder and much brighter.”

Grayson County Schools Superintendent Barry Anderson presented the first award of the evening, the Education Award, to a woman who has “handled every situation as near perfectly as possible,” and whose “high character and great sense of humor” have made her an invaluable member of the Grayson County High School staff for 39 years.

The 2013 Education Award was awarded to the newly retired Linda Baxter.

Twin Lakes Regional Medical Center CEO Wayne Meriwether took to the podium to extol the efforts of a man who has become a pillar of the community since arriving here 12 years ago. Serving on the Chamber Board, Planning and Zoning Committee, Health Department Board, TLRMC Board, as a two-time Lion’s Club president, and a member of many other state boards and organizations, he has given what “seems like a lifetime of servicing since arriving in 2001.”

The Spark Plug Award was presented to local business-owner and optometrist Dr. Brett Abney.

Chief of Leitchfield Police Department Kevin Henderson was pleased to present the next award to a lifelong friend and fellow civil servant who achieved his childhood dream of becoming a police officer and working his way up to Master Trooper with the Kentucky State Police, receiving multiple medals of valor and instituting drug prevention programs for children as well as the KSP Explorer program for youngsters interested in law enforcement.

The Community Service Award was given to Norman Chaffins, who is following up his retirement from KSP as the new School Resource Officer at Grayson County High School.

Kevin Brooks, owner of Future Designs, introduced the crowd to the next award winner by saying, “businesses pass through our community all the time, but this one has been a pillar of our community for over 30 years,” adding that in addition to being a part of Leitchfield’s commerce, they have volunteered “countless hours” toward community service.

The 2013 Small Business Award was presented to the partners at Buckles, Travis, VanMeter and Hart, PLLC.

Basham again took the stage to present the President’s Award to a man who has saved countless lives and kept the local hospital running for years as the “only practicing surgeon for over a decade,” adding that he is “known throughout the state for his expertise” and cutting-edge knowledge.

The President’s Award went to Dr. Joseph Petrocelli, who was also recently honored by having TLRMC’s new Critical Care Unit named after him.

The final award of the evening was handed out by Darrell Moll, Chairman of Leitchfield-Grayson County Industrial Development Corp. Moll explained that this year’s recipient “had a hand in virtually every major endeavor in Grayson County over the past 50 years.” He explained that this man is known for saying “those who dare, win” and Moll added, “he has definitely dared in his life, and thanks to that, Grayson County has won.”

The Twin Lakes Award was proudly presented to former judge and continued community supporter Kenneth H. Goff, Sr.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Leitchfield Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com