Leitchfield recognized for going smoke-free

By Matt Lasley - mlasley@civitasmedia.com

The Leitchfield City Council has been selected to receive the Kentucky Center for Smoke-free Policy’s Smoke-free Indoor Air Endeavor Award.

The award recognizes the City Council’s passage of a smoke-free ordinance in 2016, which prohibits smoking inside enclosed public places and within 15 feet of an outside entrance to or open window of any enclosed public place in which smoking is prohibited.

The City Council will receive the award during the Kentucky Center for Smoke-free Policy’s (KCSP) 2017 Spring Conference awards luncheon on Tuesday, April 18 in Lexington.

Leitchfield Mayor William Thomason received notice of the award via a letter from KCSP Professor and Director Ellen J. Hahn, PhD, RN, FAAN, earlier this month.

Past and present City Councilmembers involved in the passage of the Leitchfield smoke-free ordinance, among others, will be invited to attend the luncheon to accept the award.

The KCSP is part of the University of Kentucky’s BREATHE (Bridging Research Efforts and Advocacy Toward Healthy Environments) initiative.

The KCSP works to provide rural and urban communities across Kentucky with science-based strategies for advancing smoke-free policies on the local level and educating the public and lawmakers on their benefits.

For more information about the Kentucky Center for Smoke-free Policy, visit http://www.uky.edu/breathe/tobacco-policy/kentucky-center-smoke-free-policy.

By Matt Lasley


Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

comments powered by Disqus