Magistrates flip on mileage decision again

By Theresa Armstrong -

The Grayson County Magistrates voted to re-instate their travel pay “back to the way it was before” during the Regular Fiscal Court, Friday, June 20.

After all the regular business was complete, Magistrate Harold Johnson made a motion to reinstate the mileage pay that the Fiscal Court decided to forfeit during the March special called meeting. The decision was made then to no longer receive reimbursement for mileage after the magistrates were questioned about their decision in the January meeting.

The vote to reinstate the mileage pay was a tie with Johnson and Bill Skaggs voting yes and Curtis Wells and Jason Dennis voting no. Presto Gary and Brad Brown were not at the meeting.

The tie was broken when Judge Executive Gary Logsdon voted yes.

Logsdon raised his hand and said, “I am voting yes because these guys deserve the money.”

Until January, the magistrates were paid a rate set by the state for every mile they traveled, logged and turned in to the county treasure. Johnson made a motion during the January meeting to change that, so that the magistrates no longer had to turn in a log and were reimbursed a flat $500 a month.

Then, in March, that decision was overturned when a new motion was made by Gary to no longer have the magistrates paid for mileage at all.

A new budget for the 2016-17 fiscal year was approved during the May meeting, and there was no money in the budget for magistrate mileage.

The question of where the extra money would come from to pay the magistrates was never addressed.

There was little discussion mostly because the motion was made with no warning. This piece of business was not listed on the agenda; therefore, no notice was given.

By Theresa Armstrong

Reach Theresa Armstrong at 270-259-9622, ext. 2011.

Reach Theresa Armstrong at 270-259-9622, ext. 2011.

comments powered by Disqus