Grayson to hold Republican Caucus

By Matt Lasley -

The State of Kentucky and Grayson County are gearing up for their first ever Republican Presidential Caucus next Saturday, March 5.

Grayson County Republican Caucus Chair Paul Witten said the local caucus will be held from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on March 5 at Grayson County Middle School (GCMS).

Anyone may attend, but only Republicans can vote in the caucus, Witten said.

There will be two areas in GCMS designated for the caucus.

The GCMS cafeteria will be open for Presidential candidates and representatives of candidates, as well as candidates in other governmental races, to speak to voters and attendees, and voting will be held in a classroom.

Witten said no electioneering will be permitted within 25 feet of the classroom in which voting will be held.

The 11 Republican Presidential candidates who registered to appear on the Kentucky Republican Caucus ballot by the Jan. 7, 2016 deadline will appear on the ballot, regardless of whether they have since dropped out of the race, Witten said.

The 11 candidates who will appear on the ballot, listed in alphabetical order by last name, are Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, Carly Fiorina, Mike Huckabee, John Kasich, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Rick Santorum, and Donald Trump.

Each candidate on the ballot paid the State of Kentucky $15,000 to appear on the ballot, Witten said.

Grayson County’s caucus voting will be similar to regular precinct voting, according to Witten.

Voters will be given a paper ballot on which they may vote either for a candidate or undecided. The paper ballots will then be placed in a ballot box and hand-counted by a three-person committee.

Two members of the committee will tabulate votes, and one member will read the results. The committee will decide how to count the results—either by the hour, every two hours, all at once, etc.—and Witten will read the results aloud.

The final results will be tabulated in Frankfort, who will post the final tally, divided by county, online by 7 p.m. Eastern Time, Witten said.

“We hope a lot of people show up,” said Witten.

Of the 120 counties in Kentucky, 111 county Republican parties will hold a caucus within their county on March 5. The remaining nine counties will participate at a neighboring county’s caucus location.

Kentucky’s delegates to the Republican National Convention will be awarded proportionally based on the results of the caucus.

For more information about the caucus, visit the Republican Party of Kentucky’s website,

By Matt Lasley

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

Reach Matt Lasley at 270-259-9622, ext. 2015.

comments powered by Disqus